Karen (estherchaya) wrote,

  • Mood:

Phase 10 aggravation

So here are the rules for Phase 10 and maybe you'll see what bugs me about it. It's fine in theory, I just think the execution is poor.

First, I'll say there are 108 cards in the deck. Cards are numbered 1-12. There are four colors. There are 8 of each number (2 of each color per number). There are 4 skip cards. There are 8 "wild" cards.

The object is to be the first player to complete all 10 phases.

Dealer deals 10 cards to each player (face down).
Rest of deck becomes a draw pile. Top card of draw pile is turned over next to draw pile. This is the discard pile.

So far, normal card game, eh?

Just like any rummy style game, the play boils down to draw one, play if possible, discard one.
Play of the first hand begins, with each player trying to complete the first Phase of the 10 Phases. Each player can make only one Phase during the play of a hand. Phases are made of sets, runs, cards all of one color, or a combination of sets and runs. The 10 Phases are:

1. 2 sets of 3
2. 1 set of 3 + 1 run of 4
3. l set of 4 + 1 run of 4
4. l run of 7
5. 1 run of 8
6. 1 run of 9
7. 2 sets of 4
8. 7 cards of 1 color
9. 1 set of 5 + 1 set of 2
10.1 set of 5 + 1 set of 3

Now look, anybody with a gut instinct can tell that those phases aren't especially challenging. They also don't seem to be progressively difficult. Worse, when you consider that once you've made your phase, you can "hit" on it (explained later), there's really not much distinction between Phases 4, 5, and 6 (nor between Phases 2 and 3). Also, with that many cards in your hand, it really isn't difficult to pull together a set of 3. Now, as I said, I'm too lazy right now to do the math, which is why I've sent it to the LJ brain trust. Actually, now that I'm looking at it, maybe the phases ARE mathematically progessively more difficult. However, I still feel like they're not distinct enough from one another.

DEFINITIONS: (I'm cutting out some of this...I'm sure you can all figure out what a wild card and a skip card means)
SETS: A set is made of two or more cards with the same number showing on their face.
EXAMLE: Phase 1 consists of 2 sets of 3, which could be 3 "7's" and 3 "10's". The cards can be in any combination of colors.
RUNS: A run is made of four or more cards numbered in order. EXAMPLE: Part of Phase 2 requires a run of 4, which could be "3", "4", "5", "6". The cards can be in any combination of colors.
ALL ONE COLOR: The cards are all the same color. EXAMPLE: Phase 8 requires 7 cards of one color, which could be 7 red cards or 7 green cards etc.

MAKING A PHASE: If, during the turn, the player makes a Phase with the cards in hand, the player may lay it down, face up on the table. For example, the player is trying to make Phase 1 and has 3 "5's" and 2 "7's", and draws another "7". The player now has 2 sets of 3 and may lay then down. NOTE: A player may never lay down part of a Phase, but must have the whole Phase in hand before laying it down.
A player may lay down more than the minimum requirements of a Phase, but only if the additional cards can be directly added to the cards already in the Phase.
EXAMPLES: A player making Phase 1 lays down 3 "5's" and 3 "7's". The player has 2 more "5's" in hand and can immediately lay them down with the 3 "5's", all in the same turn. Another player making Phase 1 lays down 3 "6's" and 3 "8's". The player also has 3 "10's" in hand, but cannot lay them down because Phase 1 requires exactly 2 sets. Thus, the player can only add more "6's" and "8's" to their Phase made of "6's" and "8's".
Only one Phase can be made per hand. If a player successfully makes a Phase in a hand, then the player must try to make the next Phase in a hand. If a player fails to make a Phase in a hand, the player must try to make the same Phase again in the next hand. Thus, some players, in the next hand, may no longer be working on the same Phase as other players. A player may never make a Phase out of order. For example, a player trying to make Phase 4 (1 run of 7) lays down a run of 9 cards. This qualifies as 1 run of 7 for Phase 4, but cannot be used as credit for either Phase 5 (1 run of 8) or Phase 6 (1 run of 9).

A player receives credit for making a Phase as soon as the player lays down that Phase. The player does not need to win the hand in order to receive credit for the Phase. Several players will often complete a Phase in the same hand.

Now here's another issue I have, but it still revolves around the phases. So, Player A completes Phase 3 and goes out. Player B had not yet completed Phase 3, and thus will still be working on 3 in the next hand while Player A works on Phase 4. I have no issue with this. But since the phases don't seem to get progressively more difficult (or at least not with ENOUGH difference in difficulty), Player A has an advantage for the rest of the game. Odds are good that Player A will at least make Phase 4 in the same hand that Player B makes Phase 3, even if Player A can't get rid of all their cards. So they'll be a phase ahead. Now, yeah, Player B CAN catch up, and it DOES happen. But it just feels like Player A ought to now be up against a more difficult challenge. In some NOTICEABLE way.

HITTING: Hitting is the way to get rid of leftover cards in the hand after making a Phase. A player makes a hit by laying down a card directly on a Phase already laid down. The card must properly fit in with the cards already down. EXAMPLES: A player may add one or more "4's" to a player's existing set of "4's". A player may add a "2" to a player's existing run of "3", "4", "5", "6"-the player may also add a "7" and an "8" to this run, if the player has them. A player may add one or more green cards to a player's 7 green cards in Phase 8. A player may add a "Wild" card of any color to any of these card situations.
Before a player can make a hit, the player's own Phase must already be laid down. A player may hit only during the player's turn A player may hit the player's own cards or another player's cards or both.

GOING OUT: The player who gets rid of the last card in hand, by discarding or hitting, is said to go out. This player wins the hand. The winner of the hand, and any other players who also complete their Phase, will advance to the next Phase for the next hand.

This is a nit, but who cares if the player "wins" the hand, since all players could conceivably move to the next phase? Oh, yeah, scoring. Sure. That comes next. But I contend that scoring is next to useless and it's annoying.

SCORING: Paper and pencil are needed for scoring, and a running total for each player is kept. The winner of the hand scores zero. All remaining players score points against them, for cards still in hand, as follows:

5 points for each card numbered 1-9. 10 points for each card numbered
10-12 15 points for each "Skip" card 25 points for each "Wild" card. Only cards in hand are scored, not cards already laid down. After the scores are recorded, the player to the left of the dealer becomes the new dealer. All cards are gathered and shuffled, and a new hand is dealt.

Oooh! This looks like it could work, right? great! Now there's some strategy to going out first and "winning" the hand! And hey, you'd better be careful what you're collecting because if you get stuck with it, you'll rack up penalty points, right? Well sure. BUT....

THE WINNER: When, at the end of a hand, a player has completed Phase 10, that player is declared the winner, If two or more players complete Phase 10 in the same hand, then the player with the fewest total points is the winner. In the event of a tie, the players that tied replay Phase number 10. The first one to go out is the winner.

Okay, see, so the points only come into the picture IF both (or all) players complete phase 10 in the same hand. I've played half a dozen games. Admittedly, this is not a viable sample size. But bear with me, because other people I know have had the same experience. Anyway, I've played half a dozen games. All of them have ended with more than one player trying to get Phase 10 in the same hand. But NONE of them have ended with all players COMPLETING Phase 10 in the same hand. So the points never come into the picture. That's a lot of work to keep track of. Here's the thing... in Gin, whoever goes out first gets a bonus for the hand (or in this case, it would be a penalty against the other players). So why not say, anyone who doesn't go out in each hand gets 50 penalty points. In the last hand, the penalty is 100 points. Then use the penalty points to figure out who wins, or something? Well, actually, that could be bad, now that I think of it, because then there would be no incentive to complete phase 10. But I'm just saying. The points just don't serve a good enough purpose otherwise. Am I the only one that thinks this? Seth and I have all but given up even bothering to count points when playing because it's never been an issue.
Tags: games, misc

  • quick update

    Julian's Birthday Party Julian had a great birthday party last Sunday (the 18th). We had a gazillion people here, including Julian's great…

  • miscellaneous ramblings

    Replaced my glasses. New frames are similar, but different. Seth doesn't like them as much. I like them better. *shrug* Went to The Wentworth…

  • uh...

    So an hour ago I opened up this "update journal" page to update my journal (go figure), but did nothing with it and now I can't remember why I wanted…

  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.